Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cuulz bed cot first impression

Cuulz bed cot first impression

I looked at a lot of cots online and finally bought a cuulz bed. I purchased it with the heavy-weight option as well as the 'float kit' and lounge chair strap. I've never used a cot for camping before, always been an airbed camper, but after a few episodes of leaky mattresses and dead pump batteries, I wanted to try something else.
    The cot itself is right at 100 dollars, and the 'extra' option added 39 bucks, but it was worth it. I was surprised at how thick the support rods are. Odd material, kinda like crock sticks but more like a composite. I"m 6'2" and 260lbs right now, so I put this thing together w/ every rod I could.

Assembly was pretty simple and only takes a couple minutes. Using 2 rods for each support strut, you put the legs on opposite of each other then twist so the notches are both on the same side. Attaching them to the frame is pretty easy as long as you use the right leverage. With all the rods in the cot was pretty taut and I had at least a hand-span under me at my lowest point. It was surprising comfortable, other than the slightly protruding tops of the support legs. I didn't try it with a sleeping bag or mat on it yet, I would imagine that would do very well for padding.

Using it as a reclining chair worked pretty well too. I was a bit leery of how this worked; sticking an extra support rod up into the open ends of the support legs and then putting them into a pretty thin strap, but even on a slick floor it worked pretty well. One caveat...you can't have 2 support rods going across the 1st set of legs, the chair 'legs' won't go in far enough to fit into the holding strap correctly. Other than that, it worked as advertised.