Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Camping to Glamping...

Camping to Glamping... FULL Big Agnes Red Canyon 4 review w/pics

Been a while since I've checked in, so I thought I would.

I've been running the Alps Mountaineering Vertex 4 for four years now. The Rainfly is finally showing it's age.
    Recently had one of the 'windows' on the rainfly door tear at the seam. It's been patched and has worked since,
    but as time continues to wear on me I've decided I need to "Glamp" a little more, so I started looking at
    'stand up' 4 man tents...

The Vertex 4 in action:

So I began looking, and reading, and researching, and decided to spend some coin, and went with a Big Agnes.

The Big Agnes Red Canyon 4 MtnGLO is what I ended up buying...

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	big_agnes-red-canyon-4-mtnglo-13.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	89.1 KB 
ID:	20465

TENT REVIEW ON PAGE 2

With a Full retail of $699.00, a closeout deal at Campsaver.com got the (last) Tent/GoalZero Power/light kit and footprint for $470 shipped.
    It's pricey, and it's big, but will most likely be my home away from home for the foreseeable future.

*Necessary Features:

68" Ceiling Height... At 6'5" tall, I'm hunched over a little, but still standing!!
    96" Floor width: Once again, I need that length to keep my head and feet from hitting tent walls. More so with the leisure lite cot.
    2 Doors/2 Vestibules: It's nice to have that outside storage 'shed' for the dry bag and rain gear.
    Storage compartments: The tent floor gets a bit 'whacky-noo-noo' after a few days. I like organization.
    1500 mm waterproof polyurethane coating on Fly and Floor.

Other features/concerns:

+ Built in lighting in the tent.... 7w solar panel, and USB charger integrated. Even has a light and a fan!! Woot!
    - Longer set up time. Bigger tents usually take a bit more work.
    - Pack size: This comes with a "carry case", but it's a whonkin' 24"x15"x5" suitcase style case... not going to cut it.