PDA

View Full Version : Coffee.......can someone explain

mark444
01-21-2010, 12:18 PM
OK, newbie here. I usually only drink coffee at work, not at home, but think I would enjoy brewing some while camping in the future. What are the different "types" fo coffee makers that people use while bike camping. I have heard of a "coffee press" but have no idea what that is??? I was brought up around the perkcolating type of coffee makers........sorta like what we use at work (Mr. Coffee or equal). I would be using a coleman propane single burner stove for weekend camping, and probably a coleman 533 dual-fuel version for a future long-distance ride (hopefully, to Alaska and back someday). I don't care for the thought of dumping coffee crystals in a cup of hot water......want the "real" stuff.
thanks
mark444

narcop482
01-21-2010, 12:44 PM
Welcome............. I use the X-Press stainless steel coffee press sold through REI and Campmour. It's great. Lightweight and "stupid" easy to use. Just add water, boil water, put in your fresh ground (medium to coarse) coffee grinds and wait 4 minutes. After the 4 minutes, push the plunger down slowly pushing all the grinds to the bottom. Perfect cup of coffee every time. P^P^

bigTom
01-21-2010, 01:52 PM
I've got a 30 year old Comet brand stove top percolator. It's perked a ton of coffee on a single burner stove.

Keith (Blues Traveler) and Bob (AzDesertRider) (and others I'm sure) are using a Stove Top Espresso Maker that really works. Keith has the 'big' one, it makes about 3 cups of really strong coffee, quick.

mark444
01-21-2010, 02:00 PM
We use the Maxwellhouse coffee singles. They're fool proof, and make a decent cup of coffee.

G wizz

Hey G..........are the "singles" placed into a perculator type pot (with a tray in the top for the coffee grinds)?? (see, I told you I was new at this.........:eek:)

MATT JH
01-21-2010, 02:37 PM